Author Topic: Decals and Masks  (Read 4651 times)

Offline snap2

• Forum Rookie
Decals and Masks
« on: August 10, 2005, 02:14:56 AM »
I have received alot of requests to produce decals and masks for various projects from guys in the club, so I thought I would take the time to describe what I'm able to produce and at what costs and so forth.

Basically, I work full time as a sign manufacturer as well as operate my own business as an illustrator, supplying local companies with artwork and digital imaging for their needs.

I'm certain you've all worked with decals, so I won't bore you. A few of the products, related to the RC hobby, that I can supply are:

Paint Masks - The same material that's used for window masks. It can be cut it in reverse for application inside the body and the smallest lettering that can be cut is about 1/2", depending on the font or shape. Cut, weeded and masked it runs about $5 a square foot.

Vinyl Decals - It comes in various in colours, holograms, metallics, reflectives, pearls etc. and like the mask, about a 1/2" is as small as I'd go. It runs about $10 per SF, cut, weeded and masked, depending on the material an is durable enough for outside the body or cut in reverse for inside.

Printed Decals - Great for small stuff or big stuff and multiple prints or one-offs.  It can be printed reverse with a white backing for painting over inside the body.  Only 15-20 solid colours are available and of course multiple colours can be done as well as die cutting them after printing. It'll run you $15-$20 per SF depending on colours.  Normally, you'd print onto a clear decal, but printing on any colour vinyl can be done too.